The Sad Politician: The Election from a Non-Political Standpoint


Well, election season is over. What a relief. All the days of political advertisements, campaigning posters, and heated debates won’t be around for another four years. And finally all people without any interest in politics can have a rest from all those political arguments on Facebook posts and Twitter updates.

There’s one fact I need to point out: I am by no means a politician. I don’t know what’s happening with the United States government, other than the increasing trillion-dollar debt and the apparently tanking economy.

My parents, on the other hand, do have opinions, conflicting opinions at that. My father the Democrat voted for Obama, while my mother, the Republican did the opposite. Her argument was that since Romney was rich and owned his own successful business, he should know how to get America out of its economic crash. At least that’s what I heard from the conversations at the dinner table.

However, Obama’s victory in this year’s election surprised me. After all, as a President in his first term, he received mountains of criticism from people calling him “Hitler” and “the worst president ever” and such. Also, his performance at the first debate was… less than satisfactory. Even from my non-political standpoint, he sounded indifferent to the country’s problems, whereas Romney knew what to say and how to say it.

If you were following the statistics on Google recently, it seemed Romney was winning at first, receiving the first few votes. But even my mom admitted he would probably lose.

There’s one thing I’m happy for now that the election is over. We can finally stop discriminating each other. I seriously didn’t care about who won; I was just sick of people hating each other for their political opinions. A website I visited a while back used to ban commenters who supported Romney, calling them “trolls who don’t belong here”. Seriously?

Not to mention my friend in high school. He wore a jacket bearing the Canadian flag to school the day after the election. When asked about it, he said “Now that Romney lost, I’m moving to Canada. It’s not safe to live here anymore.” Yeah, buddy. What do you know about Canadian politics?

I found this picture on Reddit a few days ago. Apparently, Mitt Romney is taking his loss quite badly. Just think about it; even if you don’t support him, you probably feel bad for him. He studied like a college student for the Presidential Debate and spent countless hours getting campaigning posters together. Yet all he’s going to hear is “there’s always next election”.

About shooterboss

Canadian blogger and software engineer. Hopes to live in a lighthouse near Cape Cod in retirement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you have to say?

